教師應如何為人工智能教育作好準備?

人工智能在生活逐漸普及,由一開始負責一些重覆性的工作,到現在發展至分析數據並作出建議。展望將來,人類配合人工智能的混合工作模式將會更加常見,所以近年如何在中小學教育中,培養學生的人工智能素養成為熱門話題。在學校推行人工智能教育時,教育工作者有什麼地方需要留意?以下我們將從人工智能教學的各個階段、人工智能教育的基礎架構、教學策略等多方面,介紹教師可怎樣為人工智能教育作好準備。

培育人工智能素養的3個階段:識別AI,使用AI,構建AI

基礎教育的人工智能課程應由淺入深。我們建議教師可以從認識AI為教學起點,進而讓學生使用AI,最終以構建AI為目標。由頂尖電腦科學家組成的 AI for K-12計劃 提出了5個有關人工智能的主要概念,可以作為向學生介紹AI的方向:

1.電腦使用感測器感知世界

電腦通過辨識感測到的信號,發現模式並推敲信號的意義,形成類似人類感官的知覺,例如語音辨識和電腦視覺。 

2.智能助理通過收集和分析數據而作出決定

人工智能助理可以學習並執行工作。以互聯網搜尋為例,通過分析網頁內容,它會顯示帶出該關鍵字的網頁。 

3.電腦能從數據中學習

機器學習可以增強用家的個人體驗,並應用於不同的行業。例如,訓練手機進行人臉辨識及指紋解鎖,或按業務需要訓練可以識別術語的語音系統。 

4.智能助理需要多種知識才能與人類自然地交流

人類是智能助理最難理解的事情之一。智能助理如Alexa和Siri需要各種各樣的知識才能與人類進行自然的交流。 

5.人工智能社會有利有弊

人工智能技術正在改變商業、教育、醫療保健和政府的運作。好好應用人工智能可促進經濟發展,推出更多便利營商和用家的服務。另一方面,我們亦必需針對使用人工智能,建立道德標準,降低數據外洩等風險。人工智能將改變我們的工作形式,取締一些工作崗位同時,創造新的就業機會。

了解上述概念後,學生可嘗試使用AI,構建不同的AI方案以解決問題。市面上有多種針對不同的教育需求的AI學習方案。如果課程的學習目標是構建機械人來解決問題的話,可考慮使用適合不同程度學生的micro:bit。低年級學生可使用Scratch,學習block-based programming;高年級學生則可直接使用Python編寫程式。 我們的 「賽馬會社區創新智能共學計劃」 為8至18歲學生提供一系列人工智能學習活動,讓他們學習、交流及運用所學解決社區問題。

人工智能的基礎架構要求

人工智能的基礎架構指所有支援AI方案運作的要素,包括硬件、儲存、網路資源和應用程式。人工智能教學可能涉及使用不同編程軟件及數據儲存系統,雖然一些雲端儲存方案提供免費增值(freemium)模式,用家可免費使用基本產品功能或服務,但教師仍應從不同角度評估各方案的優劣,為學生提供最理想的AI學習環境。

在評估不同選項時,我們應該比較其運算性能、儲存容量、網路表現、安全和成本效益。利用AI可能會涉及處理個人資料,因此數據儲存系列的安全性十分重要。為此,我們建議盡可能採用端到端加密的方案,例如採用數據加密、身份認證、存取控制、防火牆,限制使用VPN及公共網絡,以確保基礎架構的安全性。

成本也是另一個重要因素,因為運行複雜的AI模型需要高效能的電腦和網絡。以網路為例,網路速度和頻寬越高,成本越高。 教師應仔細比較並選擇具有成本效益的解決方案。如果解決方案是按量收費,我們亦建議設置預算上限以控制成本。

人工智能教學策略

為了課程的有效實施,對人工智能的教學策略有幾點建議。首先,學習目標應側重於通過基於項目的學習和解決問題來實現人工智能素養。應該避免僅僅教授特定的人工智能概念或工具。旨在使學生具備在日常生活中使用人工智能工具的能力而設計的課程肯定比講座更受歡迎。為使課程順利進行,教學方法應構建適當的機器學習工具和平台,使學生易於理解並適合在課堂環境中進行。 

為了課程能夠有效進行,以下為對AI教學策略的幾點建議。首先,學習目標應側重於以項目為本,運用人工智能解決身邊的問題,避免只教授特定的AI概念或工具,因為讓學生掌握在日常生活中使用AI工具的能力而設計的課程絕對比講座更受歡迎。要讓課堂順利進行,教學應配搭適合課堂環境的機器學習工具和平台,方便學生理解。最後,我們建議採用主題式教學,既能吸引學生注意力,又可提升學習動機。要達到使用AI和構建AI這兩個學習目標,可加入更多互動環節,使用生動有趣的內容,有助激發學生的好奇心和創造力,讓他們跳出思考的框框,同時著手構建AI的解決方案。如果你正在尋找更多AI課程設計的靈感,可參考 「為高小學生而設的機器學習教程指南」 文章。

總結

人工智能已應用於各行各業,勢將成為未來的大趨勢。學生不應只成為AI的用家,更應運用AI建立解決方案。通過上述的教學方向和策略建議,以及選擇AI基礎架構的考慮,希望教育工作者可更有信心推行人工智能教育。如你在推行人工智能課程時,需要任何建議,可 提交查詢預約人工智能工作坊

相關文章

回應

本網站使用 Akismet 來減少垃圾郵件。了解如何處理您的評論數據

en_USEnglish

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.

How educators can gear up for implementing AI education

Ever since the integration of AI into our society, the vision of utilizing technology has shifted from the automation of human action to that of human cognition. Facing a future of AI-human hybrid labor systems, primary and secondary school curricula must be devised to equip the next generation in a world flooded with AI. Fostering the AI literacy of students has become a hot topic in primary and secondary education that requires strengthening the understanding of AI education implementation among educators. In view of this, the following will introduce the stages of teaching AI, the infrastructure requirements for implementing AI education, teaching strategies, and suggested AI learning materials for pre-tertiary levels.

3 stages of developing AI literacy: recognize AI, use AI, build AI

The AI curriculum for basic education should be from shallow to deep. It is recommended that educators should teach students from recognizing AI, to using AI, and finally building AI. And the 5 big ideas identified by AI for K-12 initiative that was organized by leading computer scientists can be a good starting point for students to recognize AI:

1.Computers perceive the world using sensors

Computers perceive by extracting meaning from sensory signals. The computer sensors are analogous to the human senses. Examples of types of perception include speech recognition and computer vision. 

2.Agents maintain representations of the world and use them for reasoning

Agents in AI can learn and execute tasks. Take internet search as an example, the representations it maintains are the content of web pages. The reasoning it has is to choose which pages to return in response to a query. 

3.Computers can learn from data

Machine learning can enhance personal experience and be applied in different industries. For example, train your phone to recognize your face or fingerprint, or train a speech recognition system for business purposes. 

4.Intelligent agents require many types of knowledge to interact naturally with humans

Humans are among the hardest things for AI agents to understand. Intelligent agents, such as Alexa and Siri, must have attained many types of knowledge to interact naturally comparable to people. 

5.AI applications can impact society in both positive and negative ways

AI technologies are changing business, education, healthcare and government. Applications of AI are an economic driver that makes new services possible and business much more convenient. On the other hand, ethical standards are necessary for AI systems to reduce ethical risks such as data leakage. AI will change the way people work, eliminate some jobs, but at the same time create new jobs.

On top of learning the above concepts, students should be equipped to be proactive users of AI, or even AI builders to solve different problems. Various AI solutions are available according to educational needs. For example, if the learning goal of a course is to build robots to solve problems, micro:bit is a good solution as it is suitable for different levels of students. For junior students, they can start by building a bot with coded blocks using Scratch while senior students may learn to code directly using Python. Our Jockey Club AI Community Innovation Programme offers a range of AI learning activities for students to learn, play and solve real-world problems.

Infrastructure requirements of AI

It is important to understand the infrastructure of AI. Infrastructure means all the components, including hardware, storage, network resources, and software applications that are necessary for cloud computing. Teaching AI may involve training students to use AI solutions to build projects. Although system requirements of different solutions vary, and some cloud-based AI solutions offer freemium that you can use for free as long as the usage is not high, teachers should still understand how to evaluate the infrastructure from different perspectives to provide the best learning environment for their students.

We should be aware of computing performance, storage capacity, networking infrastructure, security, and cost-effectiveness while evaluating different options. Security is particularly important as utilizing AI may touch upon dealing with sensitive personal data, so the infrastructure must be proven to be secure. Therefore, it is suggested that an end-to-end security solution is adopted if possible. Options such as data encryption, adoption of identity and access management, firewall implementation, limiting the usage of VPN and restriction of public internet connections can be considered to ensure infrastructure security.

Cost is also another important factor because complex AI models can be expensive to run. Take networking as an example, the higher the network speed and bandwidth, the higher the cost.  Teachers should carefully compare and select cost-effective solutions. If the solution is a pay-as-you-go plan, you are suggested to cap the budget as a cost control measure.

Teaching Strategies of AI

For the effective implementation of the curriculum, there are several suggestions on the teaching strategies of AI. First, the learning goal should be focused on achieving AI literacy through project-based learning and problem-solving. Merely teaching a particular AI concept or tool should be avoided. The lessons designed that aim at equipping students with the ability to use AI tools in their daily lives are definitely more preferred over lectures. For the lessons to run smoothly, the teaching method should be constructed with an appropriate selection of machine learning tools and platforms that are easy for the students to understand and suitable to be conducted in the classroom environment. 

And finally, a topic-based teaching approach is suggested as it can draw students’ attention and motivation. As using AI and building AI are the major learning goals, the learning activities should be interactive and engaging to arouse students’ curiosity and creativity to think out of the box while allowing them to gain hands-on experience with building AI solutions. If teachers are looking for more AI course design insights, you may also visit “A practical guide to machine learning course design for senior school grades” on our website.

Conclusion

Artificial Intelligence has been adopted in all walks of life. Students should not only be the end-users of the solutions, but also the active contributors who help develop solutions to solve problems. With the above discussion on the teaching directions and strategies, as well as the criteria for selecting AI infrastructure, it is hoped that educators could feel more confident in implementing AI education. Should you need any advice on arranging AI workshops in school, please submit your enquiry or book a customized workshop. Let’s provide the best possible AI learning for the next generations!

Related Articles

Responses

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

zh_HKChinese

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.