為高小學生而設的機器學習教程指南

機器學習作為人工智能的分支之一,現已發展成資訊科技領域中不可缺少的工具。憑著強大的學習和決策能力,機器學習已在數據分析、詐騙偵測和自然語言處理等多個範疇獲得廣泛應用。有意見認為在小學階段學習有關知識言之過早,但其實坊間亦不乏讓高小學生學習人工智能的工具。

隨著 Teachable Machine 和 Machine Learning for Kids等軟件相繼推出,學生無需深入研究機器學習常用的演算法和基本原理,亦可體驗機器學習的運作,大大降低學習門檻。所以在設計課程時,只要因應學生水平,制訂適當的學習目標,教授機器學習其實是可行的。如果教師可將課程緊扣社會步伐,更可擴闊學生視野。以下指南將從制定學習目標開始,介紹如何設計適合高小學生的機器學習課程。

制定適當的學習目標:機器學習的基本概念與應用

機器學習涉及的範疇廣泛,為了方便小學生學習,我們建議把重點放在具體的概念和實際應用上。通過現實世界的情景帶出機器學習的基礎知識,並讓學生反思機器學習對日常生活的影響,皆是合適的學習目標。這些目標不涉及演算法或機器學習如何模擬人類的神經網絡,更可以與高小的資訊技術和常識科融會貫通,是個實踐機器學習教育的好開始。s 英皇書院同學會小學還對 機器學習配搭上述兩門學科的跨學科學習進行了案例研究。.

此外,麻省理工學院亦設計了一個名為 「監督式機器學習和演算法偏差簡介" (Introduction to Supervised Machine Learning and Algorithmic Bias) 」概述人工智能的基本原理,指出所有科技系統都是社會科技系統(socio-technical systems),反思科技為世界帶來的影響等。 

機器學習及倫理

機器學習可分為監督式學習、非監督式學習和強化學習三種訓練模式。針對學校課程,我們可集中討論監督式學習,即在訓練機器的過程提供答案。視乎機器學習模型的功能,這些「有標籤」的示例可以是圖像、文字、聲音。

監督式學習的目標是訓練模型對輸入數據作出預測。 教師可以從介紹數據集(dataset),學習演算法(learning algorithm)及預測(prediction)開始,然後解釋如何使用數據來訓練模型。有別於一般小學科目,機器學習模型的預測結果沒有明確的標準答案,預測的可靠度取決於訓練數據的質量。教師可將機器學習和一般小學科目比較,帶出前者有趣之處。

最後,當學生理解上述概念並嘗試構建模型後,教師可與他們探討機器學習的倫理。例如當機器學習模型的演算法存在系統誤差並造成不公平的結果時,我們該如何處理?當社會廣泛採用機器學習時,又會帶來什麼影響? 

使用網上免費的機器學習工具構建文字、圖像和聲音分類

介紹機器學習的基本概念後,教師可運用 Teachable MachineMachine Learning for Kids兩個免費機器學習軟件,讓學生著手建立和訓練分類模型。Teachable Machine是由Google開發,支援圖像、聲音和姿勢三種數據類型的機器學習專案;Machine Learning for Kids則由IBM研發,根據文字、圖像、數字和聲音進行分類。

使用生動具體的例子在高小課程尤為重要,教授分類模型亦不例外。Google推薦的Teachable Machine教材中, readyai的Teachable Machine教學計劃就以魚類分類為例,教授圖像分類模型,同時深化學生的語文能力及科學知識。麻省理工學院設計的 「為中學生而設的人工智能倫理課程」也是值得參考的例子,其中 「監督式機器學習和演算法偏差簡介" (Introduction to Supervised Machine Learning and Algorithmic Bias) 」 一節以狗和貓的數據來訓練模型,從而討論演算法偏差。這些材料均以圖像分類為主,有助學生將有關學習概念形象化。

文字和聲音分類則可參考 Machine Learning for Kids 中的練習,適合不同程度的學生。學習聲音分類可從難度最低的「Alien Language 」項目開始,學生只需要提供兩段模擬外星人的聲音便可訓練聲音分類模型。這項有趣而簡單的活動估計僅需1小時,亦不涉及語音識別(speech recognition)等較艱深的概念。

至於文字分類,可由「Make me happy」專案開始。學生需運用帶有積極和消極情緒的詞彙訓練模型,當測試的詞彙被歸類為正面時,系統會顯示微笑;反之,則會出現一張哭泣的臉,從而學習分析不同詞彙代表的情感。教師只需稍微調節專案的主題,便可教授反義詞,豐富學生的詞彙量。

無論採用哪種工具進行教學,流程上都離不開收集數據、訓練數據集、測試和應用模型。為了在教授分類模型和鼓勵學生在有限的課時內發揮想像力之間取得平衡,我們建議教師依照原定的教學主題來教授,以確保每位學生都了解如何在一個情景中訓練分類模型。其後,教師可透過家課,讓學生創作出自己的分類模型來解決現實世界的問題。

總結

機器學習與日常生活息息相關,讓學生早作好準備,認識機器學習,對他們未來的職業生涯發展非常重要。因此,MakerBay Foundation的 「賽馬會社區創新智能共學計劃」 提供一系列為8至18歲學生而設的人工智能工作坊,按此 提交查詢 ,讓你學校的學生預約個別工作坊吧!

相關文章

回應

本網站使用 Akismet 來減少垃圾郵件。了解如何處理您的評論數據

en_USEnglish

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.

A practical guide to machine learning course design for senior primary school grades

Machine learning, as a subdivision of artificial intelligence, is an essential tool in the modern information technology area. With its strong learning and decision-making abilities, it has been utilized in many areas, such as analyzing data, fraud detection, and natural language processing. Powerful as it may seem, whether to incorporate it into primary school syllabuses has come under question among some educators as it sounds too technical and far from primary school.

Thanks to the rapid development of technology in recent years, there is so much handy software, like Teachable Machine and Machine Learning for Kids, available for students to get a taste of machine learning without the need to delve into the very fundamental principles or the algorithms mostly used in machine learning. As long as the learning objectives are suitable to the students’ level, their horizons can definitely be broadened by the possibilities of machine learning. The following guide will attempt to provide educators practical insights on designing machine learning courses from setting learning objectives and introducing concepts of building machine learning models for text, image, and audio classification.

Setting appropriate learning objectives of machine learning: basic concepts and applications

Machine Learning is a huge topic. To facilitate primary school students’ learning, we should focus on concrete concepts and practical applications. Understanding the basics of machine learning with real-world scenarios and reflecting on the impact of machine learning on daily lives are two desirable objectives suitable for primary school students. As these objectives do not require an understanding of any algorithms or how machine learning is simulating neural networks, they can be a good starting point by drawing relevance to Information Technology and General Studies subjects in senior primary grades. King’s College Old Boys’ Association Primary School also did a case study of cross-curricular learning between the two subjects with machine learning.

What is more, MIT designed an AI + Ethics curriculum called “An Ethics of Artificial Intelligence Curriculum for Middle School Students”. The learning objectives of the curriculum described also surround the above objectives. They include understanding the basic mechanics of artificial intelligence systems, understanding all technical systems are socio-technical systems, considering the impact of technology on the world, etc. 

Concept introduction around machine learning and its ethics

There are three types of training models in machine learning: supervised learning, unsupervised learning and reinforcement learning. In the context of the school curriculum, we can focus on supervised learning where a set of training examples with labels are provided. The training examples can be in different data types, which could be image, text, sound, depending on the capability of the machine learning model. The goal of supervised learning is to train the model so that it can predict the output when new data is given to it. 

For classification to be achieved, a prediction model should be trained for use. Teachers can start by introducing the three parts: dataset, learning algorithm, and prediction and then explain how data is used to train the model which makes a prediction. It is very different from daily class activities in primary school lessons that most math problems have a definite model answer. Therefore, It is important for students to grasp the concept that sufficient training data is required to build an accurate model. It is recommended teachers should point out that prediction is about confidence too.

Finally, when students have understood the above concepts and experienced building a model on their own, teachers can bring them to the topic of the ethics of adopting machine learning. Teachers may start with algorithmic bias, i.e. the systematic error of the algorithm that creates unfair outcomes, where the impacts come from the machine learning model. The discussion can then be expanded to the social impact of widely adopting machine learning if time allows. 

Building text, image, and sound classification with free machine learning tools online

After introducing the basic concepts of machine learning, teachers can give students exercises on training a classification model. There is two famous free machine-learning software available: Teachable Machine and Machine Learning for Kids. Teachable Machine is developed by Google and it supports 3 types of machine learning projects: image, audio, and pose. On the other hand, Machine Learning for Kids is built by an IBM developer and it supports classification by text, images, numbers, and sounds.

Teaching classification models with vivid and concrete examples are particularly important in senior primary school education. As students can hardly understand how the model can be applied with merely all the steps to train and use it. Google suggested a few Teachable Machine teaching materials, such as Teachable Machine Lesson Plan by readyai. It takes fish classification as an example to teach image classification models, with an aim to enhance students’ ability in language arts and science areas. MIT-designed “An Ethics of Artificial Intelligence Curriculum for Middle School Students” is also a valuable teaching reference. In the section of “Introduction to Supervised Machine Learning and Algorithmic Bias”, it takes training dogs and cats into the model to discuss algorithmic bias. They are all very practical and students can easily visualize an image-based project.

Nevertheless, it doesn’t mean text and sound classification must be difficult to pick up. In the section of Worksheets in Machine Learning for Kids, there are a lot of projects with step-by-step guides categorized by project types and level of difficulty. For sound recognition, teachers can refer to the project “Alien Language” as it is the least difficult among all. Students are only required to provide two sounds to pretend to be an alien to train up the sound classification model. The estimated time for this fun and simple activity is 1 hour only and the activity does not cover the more advanced concepts in speech recognition.

As for text classification, there are more beginner level projects to choose from. “Make me happy” is the one we recommend to start with. Students are required to train up positive and negative sentiment vocabulary. When the tested vocabulary is classified as positive, it shows a smile. Otherwise, it shows a crying face. The conditions and actions of this project are straightforward. Students can gain a basic understanding of sentiment analysis from a vocabulary level. Teachers can also twist the topic to teach any other pairs of antonyms to enrich students’ vocabulary.

No matter which tools from the above are adopted for teaching, the procedures should always be demonstrating data collection, training datasets, testing, and applying the model. In order to strike a balance between covering the walkthrough of a classification model and encouraging students to imagine different possibilities within the limited lesson time, we suggest teachers sticking to a topic in the lesson to make sure everyone understands how the classification model is trained in a single scenario. After that, teachers could provide homework assignments to students that allow them to create their own classification model for solving a real-world problem.

Conclusion

Machine learning has become unneglectable to our daily life. Getting students equipped with machine learning as early as possible will be important for them to advance in their future careers. MakerBay Foundation, therefore, created this guide and a series of community workshops to students aged 8 – 18 years old. Our Jockey Club AI Community Innovation Programme has been launched that aims to bring together participants from schools, communities, and the industry to learn, play and solve real-world problems with artificial intelligence (AI). Submit your enquiry to arrange customized workshops for your students today!

Related Articles

Responses

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

zh_HKChinese

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.