香港本地創客地圖

Web official 3.0

創客 (Maker) 是近年不斷發展的文化。所謂創客,就是親自進行創作並製作其作品的人。他 / 她可以是在傳承傳統工藝技術,可以是在用設計改善社區,可以是在展現其獨特思維,可以是在和志同道合的同路人一起建構社群…… 總言之,只要有心,人人都可以成為 Maker!

現在香港也有不少發展成熟的創客 / 創客組織,構成一個龐大的網絡。由工匠師傅,直到規模較大的創客空間 (Makerspace)、公司,他們都是整個創客文化中不可或缺的部份。大家可以在上面的地圖中按下不同的標誌,了解更多關於他 / 她們的資訊,亦可以在下面看看更多精選內容。

當然,這個地圖仍未能把所有創客全數輯錄,現實中香港也是有數之不盡的 Maker;

而你也可為這地圖出一分力!

如果你有任何認識的創客 / 創客組織 / 創客資源,可以填寫資料在下面的連結,以幫助我們完善本地創客地圖。

 

精選內容              

人稱「基層設計師」的陳嘉興從事設計行業約30年,基層出身的他曾說「你要做一個基層設計師,你一定要先成為基層。」他認為這樣才能夠更加了解基層市民的需要。其實嘉興當初是一位平面設計師,但他反思到自己做的設計可能會影響到下一代,所以想做一些對社會有正面影響的設計,從而幫助到社會上有需要的人。

「我叫張瑋晉 Kevin,我是一位產品設計師。」這是 Kevin 介紹自己的開場白,但他不是一位普通的產品設計師,他是專把「垃圾」升級改造成有趣產品的「垃圾設計師」。Kevin 曾笑稱,因為自己是用別人視為垃圾的材料製作自己的產品,叫「垃圾設計師」大眾會更易明白他的創作。他認為「升級再造」(Upcycling) 不單只能減少資源的浪費,更加希望可以令大眾反思自己的消費模式,從而珍惜地球的資源。

大部份人成為Maker可能是因為想解決自己的問題,但亦有人成為Maker是想幫助別人解決問題,今次我們的主角禤彥勳,Denis 就是其中一個例子。Denis 從小就想幫人,他中五的時候因為看到新聞報導提及柬埔寨人在清除地雷的工作中失去雙腳,所以他就決定為他們設計及製作機械義肢,自此之後他便開始醉心於發明幫助別人的工具。近年他主力研發及製作能夠幫助柏金遜病人的穿戴裝置,更為此開了一間公司進行研究。

成為創客的路上往往都不是孤單的,放眼香港就有不少創客團體,他們都會為有志參與創客活動的人提供創客空間,令他們可以發揮自己的創造力。「樂在製造」就是其中一個非常重視在香港建立創客文化的創客團體,他們亦致力利用創客的文化、知識及技巧為社區帶來正面影響。

創客故事

— 更多內容陸續推出!敬請期待! —

en_USEnglish

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong Local Maker Map

Web official 3.0 Eng

The maker culture is an ongoing subculture that is being developed around the world. The term, ‘Maker’, means a person who generates designs and produces their own work. They inherit craftsmanship, bring social impact, demonstrate its unique mindset, form communities with the like-minded, etc. All in all, holding onto some faith and willpower, everyone can be a maker!

Recently, there are quite a lot of developed makers/maker groups, forming a great network altogether. From individual craftsmen to companies and makerspace on a larger scale, they are all inseparable parts of the whole maker culture. To know more about these makers/groups, you can click on the markers on the map above. Also, there are some featured contents down below.

Right now, not all the local makers in Hong Kong can be included in the map. In fact, there are numerous of them located all over Hong Kong.

You can contribute to this map too!

If you know any makers, maker groups, makerspace, or useful maker resources, you can click on the link below to type in related information, so as to help us make a more complete version of the map.

 

Featured Content              

Chan Ka Hing has been active in the design industry for about 30 years. He once said, “You must put yourself in the grassroots people’s shoes in order to design for their real needs.” In fact, Ka Hing started his career as a graphic designer, the more he works in this industry, the more he realised that the designs he made could affect the next generation. So, he decided to design products that have a positive impact on society and help the people in need.

Kevin Cheung is no ordinary product designer, however, because he upcycles waste into interesting items. He describes himself as a “garbage designer”, in which he thinks that this title is a good way for people to understand his role in converting waste into presentable products. To him, upcycling can not only reduce our waste, but also a way to prompt the public to reflect on their consumption habit, and to try to use our resources more wisely.

Denis Huen has wanted to help others since he was a child. When he was in form five, he saw news reports mentioning that some workers lost their feet in the work of clearing landmines, so he decided to design and make mechanical prostheses for them. Since then, he has become fascinated to invent tools to help others. In recent years, he has focused on R&D of the production of wearable devices that can help Parkinson’s patients and even started a company.

You are never alone on your path to become a maker. In Hong Kong, there are lots of maker communities in which aspiring makers are provided with space for making, and an opportunity to be creative. Making on Loft is one of those communities, and they strive to promote the maker culture in Hong Kong. They also make use of their maker culture, skills, and knowledge to bring a positive impact to the society.

Maker Stories

— More content is coming! Stay tuned! —

en_USEnglish