學校將人工智能及機器學習納入課程以滿足教育需要的好處

機器學習和人工智能是商業社會各行各業的推動力,因為衍生出許多新的工作機會。身為銳意讓學生為未來做好準備的教育工作者,你有沒有想過如何將機器學習和人工智能應用到課程之中,從而惠及莘莘學子?

根據一家國際教育科技公司Promethean World的數據,86%的教師認為科技應該是教育的核心部分。 我們在互聯網上不難找到成功將人工智應用於教育的案例, 從學校評估、評分、智能校園、線上與流動學習, 以至於直接教授人工智能和機器學習等,人工智能和機器學習正逐步融入教育生態。MakerBay Foundation也有為中小學生提供 不同的線上人工智能和STEM工作坊。

在走進人工智能熱潮之前,讓我們認識教授人工智能和機器學習的好處,了解怎樣加強學生在香港教育環境中的表現。

引入 STEM 以促進跨學科學習

與學生一起認識人工智能並用於珊瑚保育 與學生一起學習人工智能並應用於珊瑚保護

STEM教育是科學(Science)、科技(Technology),工程(Engineering)和數學(Mathematics)四個學科的縮寫。雖然各學校提供的科目可能有所不同,但絕大多數中小學皆有開辦與STEM教育相關的數學、資訊科技以及科學/綜合科學/常識科。為了使學習更互動並緊貼日常生活,以項目為本,動手製作產品的學習方法絕對是其中一個值得考慮的方向。

視乎硬體的兼容性和課程設計的複雜性,STEM教育可以橫跨不同技術領域,包括人工智能、機器學習、大數據、機器人技術,3D模型等。以人工智能為例,世界知名的微型電腦micro:bit便是STEM教育領域中炙手可熱的代表。micro:bit最初由BBC與29個商業和學術領袖單位合作建立而成,兼容不同擴充功能,大大增加解決方案的可能性。通過連接AI鏡頭等AI感測器,micro:bit可以檢測物體、人臉及顏色等。而且,它的檢測準確度會隨著時間推移,不斷學習和提升。學生可藉著自己動手構建解決方案,獲得寶貴的經驗同時,鞏固在傳統課程中獲得的知識。

推行STEM教育時,因應各班別之間的學習進度差異,學校需調整課程內容配合,而像micro:bit這樣的STEM學習工具便提供很大的靈活性,支援從方塊程式編寫以至文本式程式編寫等不同學習需要。對於尚未在數學和資訊科技課程中學習函數、條件、迴圈等概念的學生,該課程可以專注於使用方塊編碼構建解決方案,學生只需知道「如果...就(if-then)」的概念,就可通過簡單的拖曳快速地構建解決方案。而對於水平較高的學生,他們可以選擇使用文本式程式編寫來開發解決方案。因此,學習目標可以根據班級進行調整,以致每個學生都可以加強他們從課堂上獲得的知識,更甚能應用知識解決問題。

通過鼓勵創意和提升解難能力來推動學習

以互動遊戲幫助學生學習人工智能通過互動小遊戲幫助學生學習人工智能

認識人工智能和機器學習對課程的相關性後,讓我們探討更基本的東西—如何提升學習動機。 

讓學生擁有主導權和看見清晰的學習成果是推動他們學習的關鍵,人工智能和機器學習正好為教師提供豐富的資源,展示創新案例,啟發學生創造力。 學生可發揮想像力,天馬行空地思考解決方案,並做出獨一無二的的事物。教師也應該保持開放的心態,鼓勵他們勇於建立一些嶄新和前所未見的東西。自己可自由地思考,不受教科書中列出的參考答案所約束,得到更有成就感學習體驗。

通過STEM教育,學生之間可集思廣益,找出周遭環境中的問題,並專注於他們有興趣解決的問題,藉此培養批判性思考和解難能力。。這個學習過程鼓勵在整個開發過程中反覆實驗,而非一開始就要求得出正確答案。這不是一趟短暫的旅程,一下子就建立出有意義的解決方,而是要用上知識、經驗和個人判斷。

反覆試驗(trial-and-error)[的方法讓學生主動尋找解決方法。經過反覆驗證,探索不同的可能性,作出最佳決定,讓學習經歷更深刻。

著手解決現實世界的問題,積累在其他學習經歷(OLE)之中的工作相關的經驗(CRE)

雖然傳統課程為學生構思如何解決現實世界的問題打好基礎,但這些知識未能直接應用於生活之中,所以學生經常會問:「學嚟有咩用?」STEM教育確實可以成為理論和實踐的良好橋樑。

學生將了解到團隊合作的重要性,因為建構全面的解決方案需要每個隊友貢獻自己的知識和優勢。他們可以討論隊友的角色,例如擅長提供創生意念或擅長執行的人。這是模擬職場實況的良好機會。

上述的學習活動非常適合新高中課程下的其他學習經歷(OLE)。教育局建議其他學習經歷為學生提供廣泛而均衡的課程,以促進全人發展。與職業相關的經驗是其他學習經歷的五個領域之一。

對於採用人工智能或機器學習的STEM教育可納入與職業相關的經驗。學習活動可考慮包括:職業評估以了解學生的興趣和強項、STEM工作坊讓學生認識解決問題的方法、根據他們的職業評估結果進行小組項目。

通過規劃上述活動,學習過程將有利學生了解工作實況,同時亦保持與中學課程的關連。

CoralBot:用於拍攝珊瑚並用人工智能分類珊瑚 CoralBot:拍攝珊瑚並使用 AI 識別珊瑚

總結

人工智能和機器學習是蓬勃發展的領域,能夠改變社會的各個領域。在教育領域,世界各地的學校已經開始將人工智能融入教與學。以上討論了學習人工智能和機器學習如何與教學課程相關,如何激勵學生學習,以及將人工智能和機器學習作為其他學習經歷,以滿足香港不同學校的共同需求。要實現甚至最大化教學果效,根據學生的成績,實力,興趣製定學習材料非常重要。MakerBay Foundation了解這一點,因此為各個水平的學生提供各種課程和工作坊。就從今天開始探索更多,發掘出最適合你的教學方案吧!

相關文章

回應

本網站使用 Akismet 來減少垃圾郵件。了解如何處理您的評論數據

en_USEnglish

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.

The benefits for schools to incorporate Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning into curricula to meet educational needs

Machine Learning (ML) and Artificial Intelligence (AI) are the propelling force of various sectors in business. Many job opportunities are derived from the machine learning and artificial intelligence demand. As an educator who aims to equip students to be future-ready, have you ever wondered how to leverage machine learning and artificial intelligence into the curricula and the benefits?

According to a global education technology company Promethean World, 86% of the teachers agree that technology should be a core part of education. It is indeed not so difficult to find successful cases of AI-incorporated education on the Internet nowadays. Many areas can potentially adopt AI and ML, ranging from school assessment, grading, smart school, online and mobile education to teaching AI and ML directly. MakerBay Foundation also provides different online AI and STEM workshops for primary or secondary school students.

Before jumping into the AI boom, why not get it clear with the benefits of adopting AI and ML to reinforce students’ performance in Hong Kong education settings?

Fostering Interdisciplinary learning by introducing STEM

與學生一起認識人工智能並用於珊瑚保育Learning AI with students and apply in coral conservation

STEM Education is an abbreviation that means educating students in four disciplines: Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics. Though the subjects offered in school may vary, most of the primary and secondary schools provide Mathematics, Information Technology, and Science / Integrated Science / General Education closely related to STEM education. To make the learning more interactive and relevant to daily life, a project-based learning approach to building products is definitely one of the considerations.

Depending on the hardware capabilities and complexity of the course design, STEM education can tap into various technology domains, including Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Big Data, Robotics, 3D Modeling, and more. Take AI as an example; the world-renowned pocket-sized computer micro:bit is a trendy one in STEM education initially created by the BBC collaborating with 29 business and academic leaders. What is more, it is compatible with many different extensions to allow more possible solutions. By attaching AI detectors like AI cameras, the micro:bit can detect objects, human faces, colors etc. And its detection accuracy increases over time as it learns. Students exposed to building their own solutions can gain valuable experience that  reinforces the knowledge gained in traditional classes.

In spite of the promising potential learning outcomes, schools may have concerns about the learning difference between classes. STEM learning tools like micro:bit actually have great flexibility to cater learning needs of students. For example, the gadget supports from block coding to text-based programming. For students who have not yet learned about concepts like functions, conditions, loop in Mathematics and Information Technology lessons, the course can focus on building solutions with block coding, so that what students need to know is merely if-then concepts. They can build solutions quickly with simple drag and drop. But for students in advanced level, they can opt for text-based programming to develop the solution. So the learning goal can be adjusted from class to class, and every student can reinforce their knowledge gained from classes and even apply them to solve problems.

Motivating learning by encouraging creativity and enhancing problem-solving skills

以互動遊戲幫助學生學習人工智能Help students to learn AI with interactive mini games

On top of the relevance of adopting AI and ML in terms of curriculum, let’s talk about something more fundamental – motivation. 

A sense of control and clear learning outcomes are key sources of learning motivation. While in the context of STEM education around AI and ML, there are lots of resources for teachers to demonstrate innovative examples that inspire students’ creativity.  Students can think of their solutions and make something unique. Teachers should also keep an open mind to encourage them to build something new and never seen. Building a product on their own can make the learning experience more rewarding as they are not bound by a model answer stated in the textbook.

STEM education also fosters problem-solving skills with critical thinking. Students can brainstorm and identify problems in their surroundings. And focus on what problems they are interested in solving. This learning process encourages experimentation throughout the development instead of correctness at the beginning. It is not a short journey that you can build a meaningful solution in one go, instead it involves knowledge, experience and personal judgment before experimentation.

The trial-and-error approach lets them take initiatives to find the way to resolve problems. After repeated experimentation, their knowledge can be further strengthened by exploring possibilities to decide the best.

Designing solutions for solving real-world problem to accumulate career-related experience (CRE) in Other Learning Experience (OLE)

Although the traditional curriculum is the foundation knowledge for the students to face real-world challenges, the learning journey is mostly individual and sometimes difficult for students to imagine how to apply their subject knowledge. Students often ask “How to apply the knowledge we learn in the subject in the future?” STEM education can indeed be a good bridge between curriculum knowledge and knowledge-based career.

Firstly, students will understand the importance of teamwork as building a comprehensive solution requires every teammate to contribute their knowledge and strengths. They can discuss the role of teammates such as who are good at idea generation or implementation.This is a very good opportunity to simulate the workplace settings.

The above learning activities can be a good fit to fulfill Other Learning Experience under the NSS Curriculum for the secondary schools. The Education Bureau suggests OLE to provide students a broad and balanced curriculum to foster whole-person development. Career-related Experiences is one of the five areas of OLE.

For AI or ML driven STEM education to be counted towards career-related experiences, the learning activities can involve the following: career assessment to know about the interest and strength of students,STEM workshops to equip students with basic understanding on problem solving, group projects according to their career assessment results.

By planning the above activities, the learning will be beneficial to students’ understanding in careers while maintaining relevance to the secondary school curriculum.

CoralBot:用於拍攝珊瑚並用人工智能分類珊瑚 CoralBot: Take pictures of corals and use AI to identity corals

Conclusion

Artificial Intelligence and machine learning are booming domains capable of changing every aspect of our society. In education, AI has begun producing new teaching and learning solutions that are now being adopted by schools all around the world gradually. The above discussed how learning AI and ML are relevant to the syllabus, how it can motivate students to learn, and taking AI and ML learning as Other Learning Experience, in order to fulfill common needs of Hong Kong schools. For the benefits to be realized or even maximized, it is important to customize learning materials according to students’ grade, strength, interests. MakerBay Foundation understands this and therefore offers various courses and workshops for students of different levels. Explore more to find the most suitable one for you starting from today!

Related Articles

Responses

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

zh_HKChinese

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.