影響創新——邁向定義和實踐 pt1/3

世界正面臨重大挑戰,我們都在尋找更有效的合作方式來應對這些挑戰。 MakerBay 開發和促進影響力創新。但什麼是 影響創新 確切地?讓我們從一個簡單的定義嘗試開始:

影響力創新是一種讓多元化團隊創造性地協作並產生在現實世界中具有可衡量影響的創新作品的方法。

要解開這一點,有必要解釋一下我們的方法的來源:設計思維和變革理論的混合體,處於設計、創新、社會創業和非營利組織管理的交匯處。

近年來,設計思維變得非常流行,甚至成為某些課程的必修課。它在“以人為本的設計”中找到了自己的根源,並得到了斯坦福大學和 IDEO 等團體的推廣。 “正統設計思維”已被提煉為 5 個步驟:1. 同理心,2. 定義,3. 構思,4. 原型,5. 測試。這個“程序”通常需要重複多次,以達到預期的結果,開發適合市場的產品。在 MakerBay,我們總是添加另一個步驟: 6. 記錄和共享,這讓我們更接近 科學的方法費曼技巧.設計思維的優缺點是什麼?

  • + : 包容、有創意、有趣、引人入勝、快速
  • – : 膚淺,不產生影響,低問責制

當然,這是一幅漫畫,這只是公平的,因為大多數設計思維研討會都是在會議室中與初學者進行的,與現實世界的挑戰隔絕。

“變革理論是一種特定類型的規劃、參與和評估方法,用於公司、慈善機構、非營利組織和政府部門以促進社會變革。變革理論定義了長期目標,然後向後映射以確定必要的先決條件”。 [來源: 維基百科] 它還具有一系列精煉的步驟:1. 輸入,2. 活動,3. 輸出,4. 結果,5. 影響。變革理論的優缺點是什麼?

  • + : 深度、專注於影響、高度的利益相關者問責制
  • – :可以獨占(需要專業知識),乏味,緩慢。

當然,這是一幅漫畫,這是公平的,因為大多數變革理論都是由非營利組織的高級管理人員闡述的,制定戰略並分配資源以解決複雜的現實世界問題。

我希望你能清楚地看到為什麼這些框架結合起來可以高度互補。我們所做的本質上是將設計思維“插入”變革理論(“活動”現在是“設計思維”)。

這裡的目標是有一個過程

  • + : 包容、有創意、有趣、引人入勝、快速
  • + : 深入、專注於影響、具有高度的利益相關者問責制

這為實現最佳生產力提出了幾個新條件:

  • 人們:影響發明過程需要多元化的人群,其中一些人應該具有專業知識,而另一些人則需要帶來新的觀點和想法。
  • 地方:影響創新可以“現場”進行,“動手”以在半受控環境中測試想法。
  • 時間:Impact Innovation 過程將比典型的設計思維研討會花費更多的時間,並且比闡述和測試變革理論花費的時間更少,而且在實施前小規模測試想法的額外好處。
  • 影響:Impact Innovation 需要在每一步都進行細緻的記錄,以便可以將每個實驗與其他實驗進行比較,讓每個利益相關者都承擔責任,從而可以選擇最佳策略和參與者以進行擴展。

讓我們來看看幾個受 MakerBay 實踐啟發的例子:狗、包、汽車、珊瑚 

顯而易見的是,人類現在正面臨著氣候變化等大量複雜的挑戰。沒有一個解決方案不適合我們挑戰的多樣性和復雜性,但我們可以雄心勃勃地制定一種具有改進反饋循環、工具和支持性社區的方法,以創建適合當地的解決方案,進而為全球影響做出貢獻,因此 MakerBay 座右銘:本地創新,全球影響。

我們如何傳播影響力發明?

  1. 評論這篇博文,批評,評論,建議,分享參考。
  2. 分享此視頻 [進行中]
  3. 參加 MarkerBay 的影響力發明研討會
  4. 聯繫 MakerBay 為您的公司、社區、學校、大學、城鎮開發量身定制的研討會。 [email protected]
  5. 與一組合作者一起打印並填寫此一頁 DIY“影響創新工作表”[進行中]
  6. 在歸因於“Cesar Jung-Harada,MakerBay,2020 年 12 月”的研究論文中分享此方法並在社交媒體上分享。

你會注意到 MakerBay 的項目都是按照聯合國可持續發展目標組織的.不是我覺得減少排放的承諾,而是成員國就足夠了,而是因為我們相信個人、社區、學校、公司、地方政府可以共同發揮巨大作用。我們希望所有變革者加入我們的線上和線下社區,互相激勵和支持。

MakerBay 將繼續通過批評(請在下面發表評論)、邊做邊學、合作來改進和分享影響發明模型。

要深入了解影響創新,請繼續閱讀第 2 部分和第 3 部分。

< 第 1 點 | 第 2 點 | 第 3 點 >

相關文章

回應

本網站使用 Akismet 來減少垃圾郵件。了解如何處理您的評論數據

  1. 很高興你解釋和表達了所有這些……流動的必要組合,真實的虛構,關鍵區域,忍受麻煩,加強DT……現在讀這本書?

    1. 哈!非常感謝您的評論親愛的格雷!
      是的,這本書會來——那是博士項目!希望從現在起 3 年後🙂 我可能會選擇你的大腦幾次——如果你願意的話🙂

en_USEnglish

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.

Impact Innovation – Towards a Definition and Practice pt1/3

The world is facing major challenges and we are all looking for ways to collaborate more effectively to address these challenges. MakerBay develops and promotes Impact Innovation. But what is Impact Innovation exactly? Let’s start with a simple definition attempt:

Impact Innovation is a method for a diverse group to creatively collaborate and produce innovative work that has a measurable impact in the real world.

To unpack this, it is helpful to explain where our approach comes from: a hybrid of Design Thinking and Theory of Change, at the intersection of the world of design, innovation, social entrepreneurship, and non-profit organization management.

Design Thinking has become very popular in recent years, even mandatory in certain curriculums. It finds its own roots in “Human-Centred Design” and it’s been promoted by Stanford d School and groups such as IDEO. “Orthodox Design Thinking” has been distilled down to 5 steps: 1. Empathy, 2. Define, 3. Ideate, 4. Prototype, 5. Test. This “procedure” is often something that needs to be repeated several times, to approach the desired outcome, develop the product with the right market fit. At MakerBay, we always add another step: 6. Document and share, that brings us closer to the scientific method and the Feynman technique. What are the pros and cons of Design Thinking?

  • + : Inclusive, creative, fun, engaging, fast
  • – : Superficial, does not produce impact, low accountability

Of course, this is a caricature, and it is only fair because most Design Thinking workshops take place with beginners in meeting rooms, isolated from the real-world challenges.

“Theory of Change is a specific type of methodology for planning, participation, and evaluation that is used in companies, philanthropy, not-for-profit and government sectors to promote social change. Theory of Change defines long-term goals and then maps backward to identify necessary preconditions”. [Source: Wikipedia]  It also, has a distilled series of steps: 1. Input, 2. Activity, 3. Output, 4. Outcome, 5. Impact. What are the pros and cons of Theory of Change?

  • + : Deep, focused on impact, high stakeholder accountability
  • – : Can be exclusive (requires specialist knowledge), tedious, slow.

Of course, this is a caricature, and it is only fair because most Theory of change get elaborated by senior management of non-profit organisation, strategising and allocating resources to address complex real-world issues.

I hope you can see clearly why these frameworks can be highly complementary if combined. What we are doing is essentially inserting Design Thinking “inside” Theory of Change (the “Activity” is now “Design Thinking”).

The objective here is to have a process that is

  • + : Inclusive, creative, fun, engaging, fast
  • + : Deep, focused on impact, with high stakeholder accountability

And that raises several new conditions for optimal productivity:

  • People: impact invention process requires a diverse group of people, some of which should have specialist knowledge, and some others that bring in fresh perspectives and ideas.
  • Place: Impact Innovation may be done “on site”, “hands-on” to test ideas in a semi-controlled environment.
  • Time: the Impact Innovation process will take more time than a typical Design Thinking Workshop, and less time than elaborating and testing a Theory of Change with the added benefit of testing ideas at small scale before implementation.
  • Impact: Impact Innovation requires meticulous documentation at every step of the way, so that each experiment can be compared to others, each stakeholder kept accountable, so that the best strategy and actors can be selected to scale forward.

<in progress> Let’s examine several examples inspired by MakerBay’s practice: Dog, Bag, Car, Coral </in progress> 

What is clear is that humanity is now facing a large number of complex challenges such as climate change. Not a single solution will not fit the diversity and complexity of our challenges, but we can ambition is to elaborate a method with an improving feedback loops, tools, and a supportive community to create locally appropriate solutions that can in turn contribute to a global impact, hence MakerBay motto: Local Innovation, Global Impact.

How can we disseminate Impact Invention?

  1. Commenting on this blog post, criticizing, commenting, suggesting, sharing references.
  2. Sharing this video [in progress]
  3. Participating in MarkerBay’s Impact Invention Workshops
  4. Contacting MakerBay to develop tailor-made workshops for your company, community, school, university, town. [email protected]
  5. Print and fill this one page DIY “Impact Innovation Worksheet” with a group of collaborators [in progress]
  6. Share this method in research papers attributing “Cesar Jung-Harada, MakerBay, Dec 2020” and sharing on social media.

You will notice that MakerBay’s projects are all organised according the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. Not that I feel that the commitment of reducing emissions but the member states is sufficient, but precisely because we believe that individuals, communities, schools, companies, local governments can make a big difference collectively. We want all the change-makers to join our online and off community, to inspire and support each other.

MakerBay will continue to improve and share the Impact Invention model through critique (please comment below), learning by doing, collaborating.

To go deeper in Impact Innovation, please continue to read pt 2 and pt 3.

< pt 1 | pt 2 | pt 3 >

Related Articles

Responses

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Glad you’re explicating and expressing all of this…necessary combinations of flows, real fictionalities, Critical Zones, staying with the trouble, the strengthening of DT…now for the book?

    1. Ha! Thanks a lot for your comment dear Gray!
      Yes, the book shall come – That’s the PhD project! Hopefully in 3 years from now 🙂 I might pick your brain a couple of times – if you are willing 🙂