影響創新——科學革命結構的必要突變。 pt3/3

就 Makerbay 而言,由於我們專注於開發“讓世界變得更美好”的技術,因此絕對重要的是不要陷入 技術烏托邦主義,而是磨練自己,成為 技術關鍵, 倡導和創業主張是 合適的.

Dominika Szope、Barbara Kiolbassa、Anett Holzheid (ZKM):
“針對氣候變化問題的技術修復解決方案是否只是資本主義動態中的虛構期望?”

Donna J. Haraway(生物學家、哲學家、女權主義者,與Bruno Latour、Pieter Weibel討論)
“我希望它是虛構的,而不是真實的。我認為資本主義機構擁有物質、金融和敘事力量來實現他們的想像。從這個意義上說,對世界的實現是一個項目。我認為它會失敗嗎?是的 我認為它會在即將到來的過程中造成巨大的破壞嗎?是的。所以,它是虛構的,但不僅僅是虛構的。”
»臨界區« 影片討論»地球生存的故事« ZKM |德國卡爾斯魯厄,2020 年 6 月 25 日。感謝 Pamela Pascual 分享此參考資料。

MakerBay 並不是從根本上反對資本主義,事實上,它誕生於香港, 可以說是世界上最資本主義的地方之一.

MakerBay 認為,作為一個人類物種,我們必須在一個有限制的生態世界中共同創造一種經濟,這種經濟並非旨在無限制地增長。

在自然世界加速變化和破壞的時代,我們必須制定解決方案,以同等或更高的速度治愈這個自然世界。或者我們根本無法維持我們的存在,更不用說其他生命形式的存在了。我們不能也不應該野心馴化整個宇宙。

當前和最廣泛接受的進步模型是 Thomas S Khun 的《科學革命的結構》(1962 年)。在他有影響力的書中,他認為“常規科學時期”被革命科學時期所打斷。在科學革命期間發現的“異常”導致了新的範式。新範式然後對舊數據提出新問題,超越先前範式的單純“解謎”,改變遊戲規則和指導新研究的“地圖”。” Kuhn, Thomas S. 科學革命的結構。第 3 版。伊利諾伊州芝加哥:芝加哥大學出版社,1996 年。在第 139、159 頁上對舊數據提出新問題。在第 37、144 頁上超越“解謎”。在第 40、41、52、175 頁上的規則集變化。研究方向或“地圖”的變化,見第 109、111 頁。

我可以看到這個理論在 1962 年是多麼必要和革命性,但暗示了對二元性的強烈敘述。到 2020 年,隨著全球變暖,在全球大流行期間,到本世紀中葉將產生數億氣候難民,我們需要超越領土二元性的敘述,創造一種新的合作範式,加速跨學科創新。

我相信 MakerBay 是眾多參與者之一,這些參與者正在改變我們作為社會企業開展科學、公民科學、社區科學的方式,並從觀察全球挑戰到為其開發本地解決方案。我們相信開放科學、開放硬件、開放源代碼軟件以及讓技術更具包容性,將在改變我們當地和全球經濟和生態方面發揮重要作用。

在這次 TED 演講中,我給出了 3 個具體的例子,說明孩子們如何參與超本地或全球環境挑戰,無論他們的年齡如何,與頂級研究人員合作,並提出價格合理且開放硬件的有意義的解決方案。也是在這次演講中,我將 MakerBay 介紹為一個沒有進入壁壘的創新中心網絡,人們可以在這裡開發本地解決方案以應對全球挑戰。那是在 2015 年。世界發生了很大變化,我們的理論和實踐也發生了很大變化。

截至今天,據我所知,只有 勒梅爾森基金會阿斯彭研究所 一直在使用“影響發明”一詞。我們希望改進這個工具並與世界分享。請評論、批評、分享參考資料,以便我們共同改進。謝謝你。

第 1 點 | 第 2 點 | 第 3 點

相關文章

回應

本網站使用 Akismet 來減少垃圾郵件。了解如何處理您的評論數據

en_USEnglish

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.

Impact Innovation – The Necessary Mutation of the Structure of Scientific Revolution. pt3/3

In the case of Makerbay, as we are focused on developing technologies to “make the world a better place” it is absolutely vital to not fall into Technological Utopianism, and instead sharpen ourselves to be techno-critical, with advocacy and entrepreneurial propositions that are appropriate.

Dominika Szope, Barbara Kiolbassa, Anett Holzheid (ZKM):
“Are techno-fix solutions towards the problem of climate change just fictional expectations in the dynamic of capitalism?”

Donna J. Haraway (Biologist, Philosopher, Feminist, in discussion with Bruno Latour, Pieter Weibel)
“I wish it were fictional in the sense of not real. I think capitalist apparatuses have the material and financial and narrative power to make real what they imagine. That realisation of the world in that sense is a project. Do I think it will fail? Yes Do I think it will do immense damage in the process of coming, of crashing? Yes. So, it’s fictional, but not in the sense of merely imaginary.”
»Critical Zones« Discussion of the Film »Storytelling for Earthly Survival« ZKM | Karlsruhe, Germany, June 25, 2020. Thanks to Pamela Pascual for sharing this reference.

MakerBay is not fundamentally against capitalism, in fact, it was born in Hong Kong, arguably one of the most capitalist places in the world.

MakerBay argues that as a human species, we must collectively create an economy that is not designed to grow without limits, in an ecological world that has limits.

In an age of accelerating change and damage to the natural world, we must develop solutions to heal this natural world at an equivalent or higher rate. Or we simply won’t be able to sustain our existence, not to mention that of other living forms. We cannot and should not ambition to domesticate the entire universe.

The current and most broadly accepted model of progress is that of Thomas S Khun, The Structure of Scientific Revolutions (1962). In his influential book, he argued that “periods of “normal science”, were interrupted by periods of revolutionary science. The discovery of “anomalies” during revolutions in science leads to new paradigms. New paradigms then ask new questions of old data, move beyond the mere “puzzle-solving” of the previous paradigm, change the rules of the game and the “map” directing new research.” Kuhn, Thomas S. The Structure of Scientific Revolutions. 3rd ed. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 1996. Asking new questions of old data on pages 139, 159. Moving beyond “puzzle-solving” on pages 37, 144. Change in rule sets on pages 40, 41, 52, 175. Change in the direction or “map” of research on pages 109, 111.

I can see how this theory was necessary and revolutionary in 1962, but implies strong narratives of dualities. In 2020, with global warming, in a middle of a global pandemic, on track to produce hundreds of millions of climate refugees by mid-centuries, we need to go beyond narratives of territorial dualities, and create a new paradigm of collaboration, that accelerates innovation across disciplines.

I believe that MakerBay is one of the many actors that are contributing to change of how we do science, citizen science, community science as a social enterprise and go from observing a global challenge, to developing local solutions for it. We believe that Open Science, Open Hardware, Open Source Software, and making technology more inclusive will play a major role in transforming our local and global economies and ecologies.

in this TED Talk, I gave 3 concrete examples of how kids can get involved with hyper-local or global environmental challenges, contributing no matter their age, collaborate with top researchers, and propose meaningful solutions that are affordable and Open Hardware. It is also in this talk that I introduced MakerBay as a network of innovation centers without entry barriers, where people could develop local solutions to global challenges. That was in 2015. The world has changed a lot and so does our theory and practice.

As of today, as far as I am aware, only the Lemelson Foundation and the Aspen Institute have been using the term “Impact invention”. We want to improve this tool and share it with the world. Please comment, critique, share references, so we can improve it together. Thank you.

Pt 1 | Pt 2 | Pt 3

Recommend0 recommendationsPublished in Goal 04: Quality Education, News

Related Articles

Responses

en_USEN