自造首飾更具意義 樂活家:自造不應限於形式

作者 : Kelvin Lai
英語翻譯:Trinity Chan 

「現在買製成品,到處也買到便宜或漂亮的產品,但很個人化或特別自己喜歡的產品未必買得到。」有想要的東西,付錢購物,對我們來說是平常事。但付錢學如何自製「啱心水」的作品,你又有沒有試過? 黃元胄Edward數年前創辦了樂活家,專注金工首飾的他認為,每個人自製的作品都是獨一無二的,所付出的心機和努力,不能用錢衡量,意義亦比直接購買來得深。

由自學開展金工之路 賺技術比賺錢更具意義

熱愛自造的他,一開始接觸金工純粹為了製作金屬配件,用於裝飾皮藝製品。透過網上自學,慢慢開始燃起他對金工的興趣,進而他修讀了一個珠寶設計課程。他認為,相比自學,讀專業的課程學到的技巧會更全面,少行一些「冤枉路」。隨後他建立自己的工作室,但他發現,無論是租金還是買金工用具的開支都非常高,難以維持長時間經營,所以他決定對外開班,不但幫補開支,更加將自造的概念宣揚出去。他形容他的工作室與共享工作空間無異,工作坊的參加者來借用工具及場地,進行金工體驗及製作自己的作品。


除了舉辦工作坊,他亦有接訂單並為客人製作首飾。他認為自己與其他出售珠寶首飾的公司最大的分別在於,他會按照客人的設計來製作首飾,每件成品都是獨一無二,而非大量生產。雖然這個做法的金錢和時間成本較高,但亦相比預先設計好的首飾更吸引客人。他坦言,客製化的做法賺到的錢很少,但他認為相比金錢上的得益,賺到的更多是製作的經驗及技術。「就像是別人付錢讓你試」,客人拿走的是成品,但日積月累的經驗是自己一生都受用的。

 

打破創作限制 混合工藝創作更多元

被問到為何會選擇做金工,而且是首飾這種較小型的作品。他笑說,做金工首飾很大程度是因為空間的限制,在寸金尺土的香港,較難找地方存放大型的作品,首飾便能打破這個限制。事實上Edward亦非常喜歡做木工,閒時他亦會參加坊間的木工工作坊,或是自己製作小型木工製品。他認為一個創客(Maker)不應局限自己「做死」一種技術,反而結合不同的技術會令創作更多元化。

正如有些人會追求純手工製品,認為機製的首飾不及手工的矜貴。Edward就認為手做和機器做的特性不同,機器是幫助我們把作品做得更快更好。有時候他自己亦會使用機器幫他製作首飾的外型,再自己手工修飾。他形容「人同車鬥快,無論如何亦不會比車跑得快,倒不如思考如何活用機器。」,創客應該懂得運用機器幫助創作,發掘新技術去提升製作品質,故步自封只會限制自己的創作。

後記 : 經過今次的訪問,慢慢覺得Edward自己就像金屬,現在你看到的可能是他專注於金工的型態,但將來可能就像金屬重鑄般,他又可以運用其他技術去創作。而即使重鑄了,最重要的創客自造精神仍然可見於他的作品中。

相關文章

回應

本網站使用 Akismet 來減少垃圾郵件。了解如何處理您的評論數據

en_USEnglish

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.

Luckwalker: Feel the sheer joy of making your own product

Author : Kelvin Lai
English translation :Trinity Chan 

‘Cheap or beautiful goods can be found everywhere, but it’s harder to find something personalized or that you really like.’ It is normal to pay for the things you want, but have you ever paid to DIY something you like? Edward Wong founded Luckwalker a few years ago and devotes himself to making metal accessories. He believes that every DIY product is unique and the efforts expended can’t be measured in money as making your own product is way more meaningful than buying a finished product.

Getting lifelong experience and skills on the path to metalworking

Having a passion for making his own stuff, Edward first learnt about metalworking only to make metal accessories for leather goods. As he became more interested in metalworking through online self-learning, he enrolled in a jewelry design course. He reckons that the skills one can learn in a professional course are more comprehensive compared to self-learning. Later on, he set up his own studio, but he found out that the expenses for both the rent and the metalworking tools are too high, which makes it difficult to run the business in the long term. As a result, he decided to conduct courses for the public not only to help with the expenses, but also to promote the DIY concept. He described his studio as no different from a coworking space – workshop participants come for the space and tools and experience metalworking as well as making their own works.


Apart from holding workshops, he also receives orders from customers and makes accessories for them. He thinks the largest difference between his company and other jewelry companies is that he makes accessories according to customers’ designs, and each product is unique rather than mass-produced. Although this costs more money and time, it is also more appealing to customers than pre-designed accessories. He admits that customizing accessories makes little money, but he believes the experience and skills he has gained from it are also very important. “It’s like someone else pays you to have a try.” While what customers get are the products, what Edward gets is some lifelong experience.

 

Integrating different skills to let creativity flourish with diversity

When asked why he would choose to do metalwork, in particular small-sized works like accessories, he said it was mostly because of spatial constraints. It is difficult to store large products in a small city like Hong Kong, but there are no such constraints if he makes accessories. Actually, Edward also likes woodworking, and he would join some woodworking workshops or make some small woodworking products himself in his spare time. He believes that as a maker, he shouldn’t confine himself to a single technique, and combining different skill sets helps incorporate diversity into his products.

Some people choose handmade products as they think machine-made accessories aren’t as valuable as handmade ones. Yet Edward thinks handmade products and machine-made products are different in nature and machines help us make better products in a faster way. Sometimes he also uses machines in forming the shape of the accessories and then refines them by himself. ‘Man can never run faster than cars, so why don’t we think about how to make good use of machines instead?’ said Edward, as he believes that makers should know how to make use of machines for their creation and develop new skills to enhance the work’s quality, or otherwise many possibilities will simply be overlooked.

It seems like Edward himself is like a piece of metal – perhaps what we see now is a state of him working on his metal products; in the future, he may be ‘recast’, creating something else with some other skills. Still, the most important DIY maker spirit will always be visible in his works.

(Interview video coming soon)

Related Articles

Responses

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

en_USEnglish