北極熊因氣候變化而瀕臨滅絕

由於氣候變化,北極熊正在死亡,它們瀕臨滅絕,並且有可能滅絕。 

氣候變化對北極產生了巨大影響。它在夏季的幾個月裡使北極無冰,海冰一直在縮小 每十年 14%。

正因為如此,北極熊會餓死。這種消失的海冰迫使北極熊忍受更長時間的禁食,因為它們依靠冰冷的表面來捕食食物(例如海豹)。根據作者和生物學家布萊恩格里芬的說法,

隨著海冰越來越早地融化,“北極熊被迫越來越多地游泳,以接觸海豹種群”。

一隻雌性熊格里芬在 9 天內游泳 426 英里。她減掉了 22% 的體重,並失去了開始旅程時肚子裡的幼崽。

這是國家地理上傳的視頻。它顯示了一隻飢餓的熊正在耗盡能量,試圖在沒有冷凍的地面上尋找食物。這就是氣候變化的影響。即使你現在感覺不到它的影響,但幾年後你就會感覺到,因為動物會不斷死亡,北極會繼續融化,天氣會發生巨大變化。

這段視頻來自 2007 年。那是 13 年前。在 13 年的時間跨度裡,想想有多少北極熊已經死去,海冰消失了多少。想想影響地球的全球變暖的影響。想想由於全球變暖和氣候變化而死亡的無數北極熊,這是我們人類創造的。這就是為什麼我們需要做出改變並做點什麼 現在。

資料來源: 國家地理, 福布斯, 世界自然基金會, NRDC

相關文章

回應

本網站使用 Akismet 來減少垃圾郵件。了解如何處理您的評論數據

en_USEnglish

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.

Polar bears are endangered because of climate change

Polar bears are dying because of climate change, they are endangered and there’s a chance that they will become extinct. 

Climate change has had a huge impact on the Arctic. It has left the Arctic ice-free during the summer months and the sea ice has been shrinking 14 percent per decade.

Because of this, polar bears will starve to death. This sea ice that has been lost forces polar bears to endure longer periods of fasting as they rely on icy and frozen surfaces to hunt their food (eg, seals). According to author and biologist Blaine Griffen,

“Polar bears are forced to swim more and more, to reach seal populations” as the sea ice melts earlier and earlier.

A female bear Griffen was studying swam 426 miles over nine days. She lost 22 percent of her body weight and lost the baby cub in her stomach she had when she started the journey.

This is a video uploaded by National Geographic. It shows a starving bear who is running out of energy trying to find food on ground that is not frozen. This is the impact of climate change. Even if you don’t feel the effects of it right now, you will in a few years because animals will keep dying, the arctic will continue melting and the weather will drastically change.

This video is from 2007. That was 13 years ago. In the time span of 13 years, think about how many polar bears have died and the amount of sea ice that has disappeared. Think about the effects of global warming that is affecting the Earth. Think about the endless amount of polar bears that have died because of global warming and climate change, something that us human beings created. This is why we need to make a change and do something right now.

Sources: National Geographic, Forbes, WWF, NRDC

Related Articles

Responses

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.