我在 MakerBay 基金會的實習經歷

我叫 Amaanat Rekhi,是南島學校 11 年級的學生。暑假期間,我在 MakerBay 基金會實習了一個月。我的導師是 MakerBay 的高級 AI 講師 Anders Gammelgaard-Larsen 先生,他通過鼓勵我的個人和職業發展,讓我的實習成為一次非常有價值和富有成果的經歷。我的工作範圍包括修改、改進和最終實施賽馬會人工智能 (AI) 社區創新計劃。該計劃由香港賽馬會慈善信託基金資助,匯集了來自學校、社區和行業的參與者,以利用人工智能解決現實世界的問題並開發移動應用程序。我改進、擴展了 AI 測驗活動並使之更加流行,研究了 AI 在解決世界問題中的實際應用,並改進了機器學習數據集的示例。此外,我還聯繫了學校和非政府組織,以發展關係並進一步擴展 MakerBay 的服務。實習結束後,我於 8 月 18 日下午 1:00 至 5:30 為香港中華基督教青年會舉辦了 AI 研討會,向學生們教授算法、AI 和機器學習,包括如何使用 Teachable 訓練 ML 模型機器,如何使用 AI 創建應用程序來解決世界問題以及如何使用 PictoBlox 進行編碼。
在這樣一個充滿活力和快節奏的環境中工作,我有機會抓住每一個時刻來吸收和學習 MakerBay 團隊。我承認,我對這次實習期間獲得的獨立性感到有些驚訝。在 Anders Gammelgaard-Larsen 先生的支持、指導和鼓勵下,我獲得了自由和責任去追求自己的影響力創新項目,從而在社區中有所作為。我決定將我的項目重點放在塑料垃圾上,因為儘管它是一種主要污染物,但世界上只有 9% 的塑料垃圾被回收。我利用 MakerBay 提供的機器和工具,提出了將塑料廢物轉化為有用產品的想法,旨在將它們捐贈回社區供公眾使用。這是通過一個涉及收集、分類、切碎和擠壓的過程來完成的。根據塑料的類型和顏色對塑料進行分類後,我使用切碎機將其切成更容易熔化的小片,然後將它們通過注塑機將塑料片熔化到不同的模具中。我非常感謝 Anders Gammelgaard-Larsen 先生和 MakerBay 執行董事 Cyron Chan 先生一直以來的支持、建議和鼓勵。我在 MakerBay 期間最難忘的一件事是整個團隊如何竭盡全力協助我的工作。 Anders Gammelgaard-Larsen 先生非常友善和支持,甚至不遺餘力地帶我去 The Mills 的海洋材料回收研討會,這樣我就可以了解更多關於當前可持續發展項目的信息。
我非常感謝 MakerBay 基金會為我提供的機會,因為這對我來說確實是一次豐富的經歷。我非常喜歡向 Anders Gammelgaard-Larsen 先生學習,非常感謝他不僅幫助我發展我的技術知識,而且獲得了寶貴的實踐經驗和實踐技能。在 MakerBay,實習生被視為工作專業人士,並被分配對組織至關重要且有益的有意義的任務。我們非常重視成長和發展以及與友好和平易近人的同事一起支持的工作環境。我非常感謝這次機會,並享受我在 MakerBay 基金會工作的每一刻。

編者註: Amaanat Rekhi 於 2022 年 7 月 11 日至 2022 年 8 月 10 日自願擔任實習生。她支持賽馬會人工智能社區創新計劃的開發和執行。如果您對我們的志願者計劃感興趣,請將您的個人資料和動機發送至[email protected]

相關文章

回應

本網站使用 Akismet 來減少垃圾郵件。了解如何處理您的評論數據

en_USEnglish

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.

My Internship Experience With MakerBay Foundation

My name is Amaanat Rekhi, and I am a Year 11 student at South Island School. During my summer holidays, I took up a one month internship at MakerBay Foundation. My supervisor was Mr. Anders Gammelgaard-Larsen, a Senior AI Instructor at MakerBay, who made my internship an incredibly valuable and fruitful experience through encouraging both my personal and professional development. My job scope included revising, improving and finally conducting the Jockey Club Artificial Intelligence (AI) Community Innovation Programme. Funded by the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, this programme brings together participants from schools, communities and the industry to solve real-world problems with AI and develop mobile apps. I improved, expanded and made the AI quiz activity more current, researched real-life applications of AI in solving world problems and improved the examples of machine learning datasets. Additionally, I reached out to schools and NGOs to develop relationships and further expand MakerBay’s services. I ended my internship by holding an AI workshop for the Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong on 18th August from 1:00 – 5:30 pm where I taught the students about algorithms, AI and machine learning, including how to train an ML model using Teachable Machine, how AI can be used to create apps to solve world problems and how to code using PictoBlox.
Working in such a dynamic and fast-paced environment, I was given the opportunity to seize every moment to absorb and learn from the MakerBay team. I will admit, I was somewhat surprised by the independence I was offered during this internship. With the support, guidance and encouragement from Mr. Anders Gammelgaard-Larsen, I was given the freedom and responsibility to pursue my own impact innovation project to make a difference in the community. I decided to focus my project on plastic waste as despite it being a major pollutant, only 9% of plastic waste is recycled in the world. Using the machinery and tools available to me at MakerBay, I proposed the idea of converting plastic waste into useful products with the aim to donate them back to the community for public use. This was done through a process involving collecting, sorting, shredding and extrusion. After sorting the plastic based on its type and colour, I used the Shredder Machine to cut it into smaller flakes that could be easily melted and then put them through the Injection Machine to melt the plastic flakes into different moulds. I am extremely grateful for the constant support, advice and encouragement from Mr. Anders Gammelgaard-Larsen and Mr. Cyron Chan, the Executive Director at MakerBay. The one thing that was the most memorable during my time at MakerBay was how the whole team made every effort to assist me in my endeavours. Mr. Anders Gammelgaard-Larsen was extremely kind and supportive and even went out of his way to take me to The Ocean Material Recycling Workshop at The Mills, so that I could find out more about current sustainability projects.
I am extremely thankful for the opportunities that MakerBay Foundation has provided me with as this has truly been an enriching experience for me. I have thoroughly enjoyed learning from Mr. Anders Gammelgaard-Larsen and am very grateful to him for not only helping me develop my technical knowledge, but also gain valuable hands-on experience and practical skills. At MakerBay, interns are treated just like working professionals and get assigned meaningful tasks which are crucial and beneficial to the organisation. There is a huge emphasis placed on growth and development and a supportive work environment with colleagues who are friendly and approachable. I am immensely grateful for this opportunity and have enjoyed every moment of my time with MakerBay Foundation.

Editor note: Amaanat Rekhi volunteered as intern from 11 July 2022 – 10 August 2022. She supported development and execution of the Jockey Club AI Community Innovation Programme. If you are interested in our volunteer program, please send your profile and motivation to [email protected]

Related Articles

Responses

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

zh_HKChinese

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.