網上研討會 - 如何在香港推動創客教育

隨著解難和批判性思維等技能以及動手學習的經驗變得越來越重要,現在不少學校都較以往著重創客教育。身為教育工作者,我們可怎樣做好準備,一起協助推廣創客教育?

MakerBay Foundation 在 2022 年 4 月 22 日舉辦了網上研討會「如何在香港推動創客教育」,回顧目前香港創客教育的情況,並討論我們可以如何進一步推動其發展。我們非常榮幸邀請到三位在 STEM 和創客教育方面擁有豐富經驗的演講嘉賓,與大家分享如何在教育系統加入創新元素、將STEM 教育延伸至創客教育,以及創客教育的評估方式。他們分別是:

  • 香港青年協會李兆基小學生活創客科主任李劻諺老師 Tommy;
  • 東華三院黃鳳翎中學黃佩珮老師 Pui Pui;
  • 英華書院 STEM 教育副召集人陳汝堅先生 Eric。

如何在傳統教育體系中加入創新思維

創新驅使社會進步,亦正是我們需要培養學生的技能。但在香港的教育制度下,學習傾向重視結果,加上學校多採用專科專教的教學模式,一直對鼓勵創新思維構成不少阻力。要改變現狀,需要不同持份者的共同努力,其中包括學校、非牟利組織和商界的支持,以匯聚更多資源、人才及資金。

當中老師的角色極為重要,他們不但為學生提供適當的指導,也要創造充足的空間讓他們發揮創意。我們除了需要提醒學生多留意四周的環境,也應該引導他們擺脫既定的思考模式,並在解決問題時抱着開放的心態。 跨學科合作將會是創新的關鍵元素,不同學科的老師可以一起合作,用各自學科的專業知識與技能互補不足。 比如說, 在產品創作的過程中,科學老師可以提供製作產品的理論知識,電腦科老師可以分享使用最新技術的見解,視藝科老師則可以給予美化產品的意見。 

「身為中學電腦科老師,了解小學和其他學科老師的教學經驗讓我反思我還能做些甚麼。」

陳汝堅先生

Eric 認為教育工作者不應只專注於他們所教的科目及採用單一思維方式。他還指出,疫情為網上學習提供了契機,也是未來的趨勢,所以老師應該思考如何鼓勵學生採用這種學習模式主動學習。

將STEM 教育延伸至創客教育

STEM 教育早已成為熱門話題,但我們需要再進一步,延伸到創客教育。 說到 STEM 教育與創客教育的分別,前者偏向以學術為主,較注重學科知識;相比之下,後者強調以人為本,著重設計思維和解決現實世界的問題。創客教育的專題項目例子可以是使用一些木工和電子工具,創造為視障人士在日常生活提供協助的設備。在創客教育中,學生抱著試錯精神邊做邊學,使用不同工具,獲取實踐經驗。

STEM 教育已被納入本地學校的課程,為發展創客教育奠下了良好的根基──以 STEM 知識為基礎,學生可更容易構想出創客點子,為社會帶來正面影響。Tommy 所任教的學校過去曾推行 STEM 教育,現在他們轉為發展創客教育,學校四至六年級的學生都必須修讀。創客教育令學生透過自己的專題項目,獲得更具體的學習成果,並進一步鞏固所學到的知識。

「創客工具的種類繁多,我們發現創客教育可以讓學生接觸更多新事物,學習與時並進,並解決現實世界的問題。」

李劻諺老師

評估「思維」轉變的方式

要推行創客教育,評估方式是當中較棘手的一環。同理心和創意等都是一些內在價值,難以被衡量,因此很難具體評估學生的知識和表現。 

「你不能給學生的同理心打分,但當他們完成了一個為培養同理心而設的課程時,就可以算是達到學習​​目標,並且具備同理他人的能力。」

黃佩珮老師

Pui Pui的學校已推行了創客教育好幾年,他們設計的課程圍繞著 六個核心價值 CCCESR,分別代表「好奇心(Curiosity)」、「創意(Creativity)」、「團隊合作(Collaboration)」、「同理心(Empathy)」、「自學能力(Self-learning)」和「抗逆力(Resilience)」 。她認為較全面的學習成效評估應涉及不同持份者的參與,並包括以下部分:

  • 教師評估,提供書面及口頭評價;
  • 學生自我評估,讓他們清楚知道要求及準則,方便日後加以改善;
  • 學生互評,用作檢討小組成員的角色及責任。 

此外,匯報演講也是一種不錯的評估方式,可以具體反映學生的思考及學習過程,以及專題項目的進度。總而言之,創客教育所採用的評估方式需根據不同學校的學生水平度身訂造,而評估的要點應該包括學生對議題的了解以及他們理解他人面對的難處的能力。

狗隻用的義肢設計

在研討會尾聲,參加者更與演講嘉賓分組互動,互相交流心得。他們都很有興趣深入了解創客教育,並提出了各種相關問題,包括團隊合作的重要性、老師所需的培訓、如何克服發展新課程的阻礙等。在此感謝演講嘉賓對是次活動的支持以及有趣的分享,亦感謝大家踴躍參與!

相關文章

回應

本網站使用 Akismet 來減少垃圾郵件。了解如何處理您的評論數據

en_USEnglish

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.

Community Panel Discussion Series – How to advance maker education in Hong Kong

With skills such as problem-solving and critical thinking as well as hands-on learning experience becoming more important in recent decades, more schools are now attaching importance to maker education. As educators, how can we prepare for the changes ahead and adapt to education?

Makerbay Foundation held a panel discussion “How to advance maker education in Hong Kong?” on 22 April 2022 as our community event to review the current development of maker education in Hong Kong and discuss how we can advance its development. It was our honour to invite 3 speakers with a wealth of experience in STEM education and maker education, who shared their insights on bringing innovation into the education system, shifting from STEM education to maker education and the assessment of maker education. They were:

  • Mr. Tommy Lee, HKFYG Lee Shau Kee Primary School;
  • Ms. Pui Pui Wong, TWGHs Wong Fung Ling College;
  • Mr. Eric Chan, Ying Wa College.

How to build innovative ideas in the traditional system?

Innovation is what drives our society forward and a competency our students need. The education system in Hong Kong has been focused on result-oriented learning and specialized teaching practice, which have created some barriers to innovation. To challenge the status quo, it is essential to have collaborative efforts from different stakeholders, which include support from schools, relevant organizations and the business sector, to gather more resources, talents and capital.

Teachers play an extremely important role in giving room and guidance for the creativity of students to thrive. Students need to be taught to pay attention to the surrounding environment, think outside the box and approach problems with a more open mindset. Cross-discipline collaboration will be a key element in innovation as teachers with different subject knowledge and skills can work together and complement each other. For example, in the process of product creation, science teachers can provide theoretical knowledge for building the product, computer teachers can offer insights in using the latest technologies, and art teachers can give aesthetic opinions. 

“Learning about the teaching experience of teachers from primary schools and other disciplines prompts me to reflect on what I can do as a computer teacher in a secondary school,”

Eric

Eric suggested that educators should never simply focus on the particular subject they teach and a single mindset. He also pointed out that the pandemic has provided an opportunity to promote virtual learning and teachers should think about how to encourage students to adopt this learning mode, which will be very likely to become a norm in the future.

From STEM education to maker education

STEM education has long become the talk of the town, but there is a need to push it forward into something more practical, which is maker education. While STEM education is more academic-oriented and focuses more on subject knowledge, maker education, being more human-oriented, puts great emphasis on design thinking and solving real-world problems. An example of a maker project can be creating a device to assist the visually impaired in daily life with the use of some tools for woodworking and electronics. Students will get hands-on experience working with tangible tools through learning by doing and trial and error.

As STEM education has been incorporated into local school curricula, it can actually act as a foundation for the development of maker education. STEM knowledge acquired through STEM education provides students with a great source of fuel to develop maker projects and create a positive impact on society. The school where Tommy teaches used to implement STEM education in the past, but now they have developed it into maker education as a compulsory subject for primary 4 to 6 students. Maker education enables students to visualize the learning outcomes through working on their own projects as well as further consolidating their knowledge.

“Given that there are a variety of maker tools, we realize that maker education allows our students to gain exposure to new things, stay up-to-date and address real-world issues,''

Tommy

Ways to evaluate the “mindset” change

When it comes to the implementation of maker education, assessment is one of the challenging parts. It is difficult to assess students’ knowledge and performance as intrinsic values like empathy and creativity are hard to measure. 

“You cannot grade students on their empathy, but when they complete a programme which is designed to build empathy, it can be said that they have achieved the learning goal and have the ability to empathize with others,” .

Pui Pui.

Pui Pui’s school has been implementing maker education for a few years and they have designed their course based on CCCESR, which stands for six core values “Curiosity”, “Creativity”, “Collaboration”, “Empathy”, “Self-learning” and “Resilience” respectively. She suggested that a more comprehensive assessment scheme should encourage participation from different stakeholders and include the following parts:

  • Assessment by the teacher, with both written and verbal feedback
  • Self-evaluation by students, which allows them to know the criteria so as to make improvements
  • Peer assessment by group mates, so that they can evaluate each other’s role and responsibilities in the project. 

Presentations could be a good way for assessment, through which students’ thinking and learning process, as well as the progress of the project, can be reflected. After all, the assessment method adopted in maker education should be tailor-made according to students’ level in different schools. And they should be assessed against their knowledge regarding the issues and their ability to understand others’ pain points.

prosthetics for dogs

At the end of the webinar, participants had further discussions and interactions with our speakers in breakout rooms. They all showed interest in knowing more about maker education and raised various questions regarding the importance of teamwork in maker education, the training teachers need to implement maker education and how to overcome obstacles in developing maker education as a new curriculum. We would like to thank our speakers for their support and insightful sharing, and thank you everyone for your participation!

Related Articles

Responses

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

zh_HKChinese

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.