由本地到海外 4個人工智能初創的勵志故事

成功需要周全的部署和果斷的執行力,人工智能初創亦不例外。每位創辦人要克服發展創新業務的各種挑戰,願景、動力和決心缺一不可。以下我們將會分享由香港以至海外,4間人工智能初創及其創辦人的故事。讓我們從這些勵志故事中,了解人工智能如何在各個範疇上解決難題,推動社會進步吧!

為特殊教育需求(SEN)學生研發遠端學習系統——黃俊文先生

黃俊文(Victor)是香港 Bridge AI 的創辦人。 他與團隊開發了Kinnectus配對平台,將行為治療與科技結合,為有特殊教育需要(SEN)的社群提供優質且價錢合理的服務。他們希望將應用行為分析普及,降低費用及提高效率,讓更多SEN學生受惠。

SEN學童父母可通過Kinnectus搜索和預約合適的註冊特教導師(CSNT)進行評估,並可將一般每月動輒20,000港元的訓練及課堂,大幅減至2,000港元。該應用程式更會為SEN學童建立檔案,記錄他們是否完成任務,需要支援以及遵從指示等等。人工智能技術會分析這些數據並建議個人化的學習計劃,推薦適合的課程。

這項創新科技為Victor贏得由阿里巴巴創業者基金主辦的「 JUMPSTARTER IdeaPOP!2021」比賽冠軍,以及香港社會企業挑戰賽2021-22的冠軍及適時效益獎。 

為普羅大眾提供嶄新 AI 健身體驗——邢增福先生

邢增福(Alexander)在香港創立DRESIO,主力研發具鏡頭檢測功能的AI手機程式,結合運動科學理論,檢測健身姿勢,將不同動作及鍛煉的難度分類,以及向用家提供健身反饋。用家只需將電話的前置鏡頭面向自己,跟隨程式播放的健身影片運動,程式便會評估用家的程度,計算運動次數,並在每組鍛煉之間提供反饋。它還會根據用家的表現,調整鍛煉強度,以防受傷,令到在家健身更為方便。

每個機會總伴隨風險,Alexander反思:「我們在疫情開始前幾個月成立了DRESIO。當初並非主攻運動、健身,而是打算利用電腦視覺為零售行業提供互動的物聯網(IoT)技術。」新冠疫情下,他們改為轉攻運動系統,最後公司反而受惠疫情,生意大增。

為業界提供 AI 剪片服務 —— 金漢雄先生

金漢雄是一位連續創業家,他在台灣創立了人工智能電腦視覺公司Lucid,運用人工智能幫助客戶分析、理解並推薦出最佳的影片內容。Lucid的AI系統可以學習並識別影片的人臉、動作甚至對話,並根據輸入的主題向用家推薦內容。借助Lucid的解決方案,企業可以更快捷地得到不同影片,節省人手編輯影片的時間成本。

社交媒體近年主導企業的推廣策略,而影片內容更佔據重要角色。與文字和影像相比,影片可以更深入地解釋產品和服務,因此市場對影片編輯的需求持續增加。 金先生指出:「我們的系統可以快速分析影片肉容,有能力為更多客人剪輯影片。因此,如果你是定期需要創作影片的網紅或企業,我們可以幫助你節省人手編輯的時間和成本。」

Lucid在全球擁有超過500萬客戶。其AI每天都從影片內容中學習大量數據,提升智能。他們的系統更會分析收集到的數據,以建立專門針對不同場景和應用的AI解決方案,例如為台灣生產商訓練適合他們的人工智能。

Alexandr Wang:提供高質量的訓練數據來幫助公司標記他們的數據集

Alexandr Wang於19歲時在美國創立了Scale AI,專注為客戶提供支援圖片、影片,文字,檔案等不同類型數據的API,用作標記數據集(datasets)。以圖片為例,使用者通過API上傳圖片後,Scale AI便會從以下幾個方面進行分析:

  1. 定位並精確識別各類物件
  2. 根據影像內容對圖片進行分類
  3. 從圖片識別和提取結構化文本

Scale AI的API憑著即時分析數據的能力,被譽為「人類智能的API」(API for human intelligence)。該公司發展迅速,並幫助了Uber,Alphabet,Houzz和P&G等公司。

Alexandr分享:「隨著年齡增長,你變得越來越害怕風險。如果今天你不願意承擔這個風險,那可能之後都跨越不了這一關。」他果然坐言起行,勇敢面對風險。他在麻省理工學院(MIT)完成第一年學士課程後,便獲得矽谷加速器的投資,繼而輟學踏上創業之路。

總結

成立初創不會一帆風順。除了利用創新科技之外,解決方案更須以人為本,緊貼市場需求。你有沒有想過利用AI技術來解決自己關心的問題,為社會出一分力?立即了解我們的工作坊,邁出學習人工智能的第一步吧! 探索我們的研討會 今天就邁出深入AI世界的第一步吧!

相關文章

回應

本網站使用 Akismet 來減少垃圾郵件。了解如何處理您的評論數據

en_USEnglish

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.

4 Inspiring Stories of AI Innovators from local to overseas

Every success comes with strategic planning and execution. Every successful AI startup founder must have spared no pains to launch their own innovative business. Vision, motivation and determination are all vital to innovative technologies. This article will share insights from exploring stories behind 4 AI startups and their founders from Hong Kong to overseas. Let’s get inspired and imagine how AI can make an impact!

Victor Wong: An educational professional infusing AI to provide a distance-learning system for students with special educational needs (SEN)

Victor Wong is the founder of Bridge AI in Hong Kong. The company has developed a matching platform called Kinnectus that merges behavioral therapy with technology, to deliver a quality and affordable service for the special educational needs (SEN) community. Their aim is to make Applied Behavioral Analysis more efficient, affordable and approachable for SEN students in Hong Kong.

Through Kinnectus, parents of SEN children can search and book assessments with suitable Chartered Special Needs Tutors (CSNT) at ease. As a result,  the monthly spending for SEN services on their kids can be significantly reduced from HKD20,000 to HKD2,000. The application records and builds profiles of the SEN children, including whether they have accomplished tasks, whether they need assistance, and whether they have followed instructions. The AI technology will then analyze the data and adjust the individualized education plans, and finally recommend courses that match the learning needs of the children.

This innovative system earned Victor the title of Champion at JUMPSTARTER IdeaPOP! 2021, organized by the Alibaba Entrepreneurs Fund; Champion and Timely Impact Awardee of Hong Kong Social Enterprise Challenge 2021-22. 

Alexander Ying: Delivering next-generation AI fitness services to the general public

Alexander Ying founded the AI fitness company DRESIO in Hong Kong. The company develops mobile applications with camera-based AI, combined with sports science methodologies, to detect fitness poses, classify the skill level of exercise, as well as providing fitness feedback. By simply following the fitness video on the app with the front-facing camera facing the user, the app will determine the user’s skill level, count reps, and provides feedback in between each set of exercises. It would also adjust the intensity level for each exercise program based on the user’s performance to prevent injury and make personal training at home convenient.

No opportunity comes without risk. “We founded DRESIO just a couple of months before the pandemic started. At first, we were not focusing on fitness, but trying to apply vision AI to make interactive internet of things (IoT) technology for the retail industry.” Alexander reflected. COVID-19 changed their business direction and they had proof of concepts of the current application in early 2020.

Han Jin: Providing AI video editing services to businesses

Han Jin is a serial entrepreneur who founded Lucid in Taiwan, an AI vision startup that helps businesses with AI to analyze, understand, and recommend the best video content. Lucid’s AI system can learn to recognize faces, actions, and even speech in videos and recommend content to users based on the topics input. With Lucid’s solution, businesses can quickly receive different editions of a video, which saves their time for manually editing videos.

Social media has a predominant role in marketing for many businesses. Many social media platforms encourage video content. Since videos allow more space to explain products and services compared to text and photos, the demand for video editing has been increasing over the years.  “We consume content so fast now we have a content supply and demand mismatch in the market. So, if you’re an influencer or a business who needs to create videos on a regular basis, we can help you save time and cost on manual editing” said Han.

Lucid has over 5 million customers worldwide using their services and products. Its AI also becomes more intelligent as it learns from a huge amount of data every day. The startup is also analyzing the collated data to build better AI solutions that are made specifically for different scenarios and applications. For example, Lucid has trained their AI to make sure it is adaptable and suitable for their manufacturing clients in Taiwan.

Alexandr Wang: Delivering high-quality training data to help companies tag their datasets

Alexandr Wang founded Scale AI in the US at the age of 19, which focused on providing an API to tag datasets for companies. Their API services support different types of data, including image, video, text, document etc. Take an image as an example, users can call an API to upload an image for Scale AI to analyze in the following aspects:

  1. Locate and precisely identify objects of various classes.
  2. Classify images according to their visual contents.
  3. Identify and extract structured text from images.

Scale AI’s API is also regarded as the “API for human intelligence” as it can analyze abundant data instantly. The company grew quickly and helped Uber, Alphabet, Houzz, and P&G among others.

“As you get older, you’re only going to become more and more risk-averse. If there’s a risk today that you aren’t willing to take, then you might never end up taking that risk.” said Alexandr. He indeed acted as he spoke. After completing his first year at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), he received investment from a Silicon Valley’s accelerator and dropped out of MIT to start his business.

Conclusion

Startup stories aren’t always sunshine and rainbows. On top of leveraging innovative technology, the solution must be people-oriented and keep up to the market needs. Ever thought of creating social impact with the AI technology by solving a problem you care about? Explore our workshops and take the first step to delve into the AI world today!

Related Articles

Responses

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

zh_HKChinese

Ms. Angie Zhou

Education Specialist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Angie Zhou is an Education Specialist at MIT App Inventor. She was the founder and CEO of Dreams Come True in Shenzhen, where she developed online coding courses for kids. She also has previous curriculum development, teaching and staff training experience at First Code Academy in Hong Kong.